Homepage >

Milada Paulova Award >

Current year

2016 Milada Paulová Award Print page

The Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports

In cooperation with the National Contact Centre – Gender and Science of the Institute of Sociology, Czech Academy of Science announced

2016 Milada Paulová Award in the field of agriculture


The UN General Assembly declared 2016 the International Year of Pulses in order to heighten public awareness of the nutritional benefits of pulses as part of sustainable food production aimed towards food security and nutrition.

This year it has been 95 years since Czech first women were aloowed to study at an agriculture university – on 28 June 1921 Marie Kuklová Anna Horynová who both graduated summa cum laude and Ljerka Filipovičová and Jelica Radosavljevicová from Yugoslavia. They were the first women studying at the Czech Technical University.

With the Milada Paulova Award the MEYS acknowledges scientific research of outstanding Czech women researchers and provides inspiration to early stage women researchers and students considering a scientific career. Milada Paulova was the first woman to be granted the right to lecture at a Czech university in 1925 and the first woman to be appointed a professor in 1939. 

The Milada Paulova Award comes with a cash award of CZK 150,000

The award will be announced in the autumn 2016.

Professor Milada Paulová was a prominent person of Czech science of the 20th century and was one of prominent Czechoslovak historians and Byzantologists. She was the 75th women to earn a doctorat at the Charles-Ferdinand University in Prague in 1918, she was the first woman to be allowed to lecture at university (since 1925), she was also the first woman to be elected an extra-ordinary member of the Czech Royal Society of Sciences (1929) and of Czech Academy of Sciences and Arts (1946). She was also the first woman in the Czech territory to be appointed first an extraordinary (1935) and later full professor, in 1945 with retroactive effect since 1939.